Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Release of an unknown Peggy Lee song!

Posted by Jade Ell 
Release of an unknown Peggy Lee song!
September 18, 2017 06:01AM
"LONG HARD ROAD TO HAPPINESS” - an unknown song by Peggy Lee due to be released on September 21 with the Swedish artist Jade Ell.

I’m a Swedish artist and songwriter, residing in Stockholm Sweden. Think it was a couple of years ago now - that I was approached by David T Shelton - an American songwriter - who turned out to have written a song with Peggy Lee. This was his message:

Peggy Lee and I co-composed a song that's never been recorded for release if you're interested. I can send the lead sheet by email. You were listed on Facebook, and I checked your YouTube music. I hear, although you dialogue in some recordings, that you have a command of melody - without it, you can't claim to be a singer, only a stylist. Fortunately you're both! I learned from John Hammond and Jerry Wexler. They discovered incredible talent like Bob Dylan and Aretha Franklin. I see you as some where in between. Wouldn't you agree? But talent is not hard work. I feel your energy and determination in performance. That's what separates stars from the rest.

When I asked his motivation as to why he choice me he wrote:

"Jade Ell is a singer’s singer - a musician’s musician. Jade has total understanding of performance, and can multitask her way into your heart. She is free in artistic temperament, utilizing balanced instrumental melody with soulful vocals. Jade is truly a rare gem” - David T Shelton.

The song is called "Long Hard Road To Happiness" and it's a live recording with the following musicians:

Daniel Tilling - rhodes
Jonas Backman - drums
Anders Lennartsson, contra bass
Emeli Jeremias - cello, backing vocals
Sheona Urquhart - saxophone, backing vocals
Jade Ell- lead, backing vocals, add keys