Peggy Lee

Beauty and the Beat! (Newly Restored Studio Version)

Capitol, US (72435-42308-2-0)
Released May 20, 2003


This version of Peggy’s celebrated pairing with piano great George Shearing is unlike any previous version of the album. When originally released in 1959, it was described as a “live” album. However, the actual live recording from Miami’s Americana Hotel was unusable due to technical problems, so the songs were re-recorded in a studio and the audience reaction was artificially created. This reissue uses the original studio session tapes, eliminating the phony audience and the announcements before each song, so it’s pure music. Ron McMaster, an engineer respected by many Peggy Lee fans, remastered this album using 24-bit super mapping.


1. Do I Love You?
2. I Lost My Sugar in Salt Lake City
3. If Dreams Come True
4. All Too Soon
5. Mambo in Miami
6. Isn’t It Romantic?
7. Blue Prelude
8. You Came a Long Way from St. Louis
9. Always True to You in My Fashion
10. There’ll Be Another Spring
11. Get Out of Town
12. Satin Doll
13. Don’t Ever Leave Me
14. Nobody’s Heart