Peggy Lee

I’m a Woman (60th Anniversary Digital Expanded Edition)

Capitol Records / Universal Music Enterprises
Release date: March 31, 2023


In celebration of its 60th anniversary, Capitol Records and Universal Music Enterprises (UMe), in conjunction with Peggy Lee Associates, announce the release of a digital expanded edition of Peggy Lee’s I’m a Woman.

Available at all digital service providers, the newly remastered expanded edition features the 12 original album tracks, including the Leiber and Stoller-penned title track, plus “Come Rain or Come Shine” and “I Left My Heart in San Francisco.” Culled from the Capitol vaults, five of the eight bonus tracks are previously unreleased alternate recordings and session outtakes. Liner notes for the 60th-anniversary release, written by archivist Iván Santiago, are available for download here.

The bonus tracks include the first take of “I’m a Woman” with a never-before-heard verse; “Jealous,” a previously unreleased collaboration with Bobby Darin with Lee singing backup and a playful exchange between the vocalists; “Please Don’t Rush Me,” “Little Boat (O Barquinho)” and “Try a Little Tenderness,” not included in the album’s original release; a session outtake of “Close Your Eyes;” and alternate takes of “I’m Walkin’” and “A Taste of Honey.”

Originally released in March 1963, I’m a Woman spent 26 weeks on the Billboard album chart. Now perennially associated with Peggy Lee, the title track and album’s first single, “I’m a Woman,” spent nine weeks on Billboard’s Hot 100 and garnered Lee a 1962 GRAMMY nomination for Best Solo Vocal Performance, Female. A second GRAMMY nomination followed in 1963 for Best Vocal Performance, Female for the album.

Album Notes


  1. The Alley Cat Song
  2. Mama’s Gone, Goodbye
  3. I’m Walkin’
  4. Come Rain or Come Shine
  5. There Ain’t No Sweet Man That’s Worth the Salt of My Tears
  6. I’m a Woman
  7. Mack the Knife
  8. You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You
  9. I’ll Get By
  10. I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  11. A Taste of Honey
  12. One Note Samba

Bonus Tracks

  1. Little Boat (O Barquinho)
  2. Please Don’t Rush Me
  3. Close Your Eyes (session outtake)*
  4. A Taste of Honey (alternate take)*
  5. Try a Little Tenderness
  6. I’m Walkin’ (alternate take)*
  7. Jealous – Bobby Darin featuring Peggy Lee (alternate take)*
  8. I’m a Woman (alternate take)*

*previously unreleased